Contact Us

Use the form on the right to contact us.

You can edit the text in this area, and change where the contact form on the right submits to, by entering edit mode using the modes on the bottom right. 

One Shields Avenue
Davis CA

Dr. Rebecca R. Hernandez

Dr. Rebecca R. Hernandez | is Assistant Professor of Earth System Science in the Dept. of Land, Air and Water Resources and a CAMPOS Scholar at the University of California, Davis.

Dr. Hernandez is the Director of Aridlab, which emphasizes the exploration of processes that elucidate the functioning of the Earth system and solving applied problems where human and natural systems interact in water-limited environments.

Dr. Hernandez is also the Director of the Wild Energy Initiative of the John Muir Institute of the Environment, which emphasizes the study of interactions between energy systems and planet Earth, including its systems and species.

In 2018, Dr. Hernandez was awarded the E.O. Wilson Award. She was a UC President’s Postdoctoral Fellow in the Energy and Resources Group at UC Berkeley and the Climate and Carbon Sciences Program at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. Rebecca received her PhD in Earth System Science at Stanford University in 2014 where she was an EPA STARS Fellow, Schneider Fellow, and Ford Fellow. She holds a Masters in Biological Sciences from CSU Fullerton and a BA in Geography from UCLA. Dr. Hernandez is a first generation college student and proud graduate of the California community college system. Her work has been featured in the Washington Post, NPR, Scientific American, and National Geographic. She was born in the California Floristic Province biodiversity hotspot and lives in Sacramento with her dog Parker, which means ‘Keeper of the Parks”.


UC President’s Postdoctoral Fellow Energy and Resources Group, University of California, Berkeley, Climate and Carbon Sciences Division, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Advisor: Daniel Kammen and Margaret Torn

Ph.D. Earth System Science Dept. of Earth System Science, Stanford University, Advisor: Christopher B. Field

M.S. Biological Science Dept. of Biological Sciences, California State University, Fullerton Advisor: Darren R. Sandquist 

B.A. Geography Dept. of Geography, University of California, Los Angeles, Emphasis: GIS and Remote Sensing, Advisor: Thomas W. Gillespie

A.S./A.A. Biology and Geography, Saddleback College

Google Scholar | ResearchGate | LinkedIn 

AWARDS, FELLOWSHIPs, and scholarships

•   2016 CAMPOS Faculty Scholar, UC Davis Advance, 2016, $4,000

•    2014 UC President’s Postdoctoral Fellowship, 2014-2016, $130,000

•    2014 Schneider Climate and Energy Fellowship, Stanford University and Audubon California, $8,500

•    2014 Certificate for Outstanding Achievement in Mentoring, School of Earth Sciences, Stanford University, $300

•    2013 Environmental Protection Agency, EPA STARS Fellowship, $126,000, (declined, in part)

•    2013 Stanford DARE Doctoral Fellowship (declined, in part), Stanford University, $148,200

•    2012 Ford Foundation Fellow (declined, in part), The National Academies, $66,000

•    2011 Hispanic Scholarship Fund’s William Randolph Hearst Fund Scholarship, $2,000

•    2011 William W. Orcutt Memorial Fellowship (declined, in part), School of Earth Sciences, Stanford University, $240,000 

•    2010 National Science Foundation C-Change IGERT Program Fellowship (declined)

•    2009 Microbial Ecology Section, Ecological Society of America Travel Award, $250

•    2009 Soil Ecology Section, Ecological Society of America Travel Award, $200

•    2009 First Place MS/MA Oral Paper, Sigma Chapter, Graduate Women in Science, OCGWIS, (March 7, 2009), Chapman University, Orange, CA, $300

•    2008 CSU Sally Casanova Pre-doctoral Scholarship, California State Universities, $3,000 

•    2008 California Garden Clubs, Lake Forest Scholarship, $1,000

•    2008 California Garden Clubs Scholarship, $2,000

•    2007 First Place Poster Presenter (Ecology and Evolution), Southern California Academy of Sciences (May 2 – 3, 2007), California State University, Dominguez Hills, CA, $200

•    2007 Dr. David L. Walkington Memorial Scholarship, CSU Fullerton, $800

•    2006 Graduate Equity Fellowship, CSU Fullerton, $2,500

•    2006 Evelyn L. Pruitt National Minority Fellowship, Society of Women Geographers, sole recipient in the United States, $5,000

•    2006 James A. Diefenderfer Memorial Scholarship, College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, CSUF, $500

•    2002 Saddleback College Biological Sciences Award, Saddleback Community College, $200 

•    2002 Phi Theta Kappa Society, Saddleback Community College